Discussing the syllabus under a mango tree


I’ve always disliked the saying, “Those who can, do. Those who can’t, teach.” My friends on the Mafi Tsati and Mafi Gborkope teaching staff explained this morning that they would like me to teach a half day in each of their nine classrooms kindergarten through junior high (some grades are combined). Their belief is that teaching is an art form, so they kindly explained that I would be watched by the teacher in each classroom to make sure I was par for this course. Fair enough! After more than 15 years in the classroom, I actually doubted myself for about 5.4 seconds, but once I was in the classroom, with those beautiful, expectant faces, and got rolling, I was sure–not only that I love this art–but that “those who love to teach, do. And do it well.”

About Margit Boyesen

Teacher. Photographer. Traveler.

Leave a Reply

